May 2016 Local Election Results

For Mayor
James Jr. Pooten 3,062
Andres Aclayan 2,348

For Vice-Mayor
Ben Capuyan 2,873
John Guitilen 1,469
Richard Yodong 971

For Councilor
Felicito Dula 2,836
Peter Tauli 2,414
David Tallusen Buyagan 2,131
Dave Theodore Gulian 2,112
Joseph Aclopen 1,885
Ezra Wadingan 1,733
Jerry Ticag 1,730
Milton Tawali 1,701

Jed Angway 1,689
Osenio Lay-os 1,629
Felicito Jr. Kibatay 1,618
Rovaldine Dagacan 1,616
Eduardo Jr. Guitelen 1,604
Thomas Palangdao 1,590
Egbert Dailay 1,469
Langkew Ban-ang 1,360
Esteban Solang 1,342
John Yogawen 1,296
Moris Abuan 1,225
George Lumiwes 1,197
Bernard Jr. Makellay 1,087
Gina Dizon 983
Pio Tuagan 723
Joey Taltala 518

Sagada Local Chief Executives through the years

Capuyan Cabobowan (Lucas Capuyan’s father)
Leon Kilpoten Lizardo (Pablo Lizardo’s father)
Juan Mendoza Dang-i
1898 Pelayan Nadnaden Tarnate
1913 Ayban
1922 Segwaben (aman Bagtang)
1925 Marcos Api-it
1927-1935 Manuel Guitelen : Presdidente
1935-1937 Tomas Longid : Mayor
1937-1940 Angel Annaban Agpad : Mayor
1942 Ricario Abeya
1945 Juan Bondad
1942-1945 (Japanese occupation; appointed mayor by Governor Clapp), 1945-1948 (elected mayor) Isabelo Busacay :
1949-1953 Paul Bacdayan
1954-1956 Rafael Likigan
1963 Pablo Lizardo
1964-1967 Ramon Aben
1972-1980 Bernard Capuyan
1968-1971, 1981-1986 Laurente Wadingan
1986-1987 (OIC Mayor — EDSA REvolution) Bertolome Daoas
1988-1992 Ignacio Daoas
1992-1995 Maximino Bagto Daw-as
1995-2004 Thomas Perry A. Killip
2004-2007 Roberto T. Baaten
2007-2010 Eduardo T. Latawan, Jr. Archive

Since the is no longer active, the contents are republished here.

The name Sagada came about when a group of Spanish soldiers coming from Besao met a man near Danum Lake who was carrying a bamboo basket for catching fish. The soldiers asked the man what the name of the next place was. Thinking they were asking what he was carrying, the man answered, “sagada.” From then on the settlement of Biag went down on Spanish record as Sagada.

The municipality is composed of nineteen barangays. These barangays are Aguid, Ambasing, Ankileng, Antadao, Ballugan, Banga-an, Dgadag, Demang, Fidelisan, Kilong, Madongo, Nacagang, Pide, Poblacion, Suyo, Taccong, Tanulong, Tetepan Norte and Tetepan Sur.


Roberto T. Baaten (Municipal Mayor)

Richard A. Aragon (Municipal Accountant)

Planning and Development Office
Jane K. Likigan (MPDC)

Bonifacio Baaten (Municipal Assessor)

Linda K. Donato (Municipal Treasurer)

Ciano Baldo (Municipal Engineer)

Rural Health Unit
Dr. Evelyn D. Capuyan (Municipal Health Officer)

Jackson F. Daoas (Municipal Budget Officer)

Sandigan Bayan
Francis O. Tauli (Vice Mayor)

The People

The people of Sagada are Malays and speak a language called Kankana-ey. They are generally referred to as Igorots. They are sturdy and industrious.

As of 1995, the municipality’s population was 10,354, 95% of which are Igorots of the northern Kankana-ey tribe, and 5% are from other tribes.

The Economy

The main occupation of the people is agriculture. Nearly all households have a small piece of land from which they raise corn, vegetables and fruits. Swine-raising in small scale is engaged by practically all households as additional source of income and as a source of meat supply vital to the performance of rituals.

Business is limited to sari-sari stores, buy-and-sell, weaving, lodging houses, restaurants and cafes. The famous Sagada weaving industry and the operation of lodging houses and restaurants have economically uplifted the community. The influx of tourists to the municipality has motivated residents to engage in this kind of business.

The Land

Sagada lies in a small valley at an elevation of 5,000 feet above sea level in the Cordillera mountain range of Northern Luzon, 415 km. from Manila via Baguio and 18 km. from Bontoc, which is situated in a larger valley beside the Chico river.

The municipality has two kinds of climate, the dry season and the wet season. During the dry season the warmest months when temperature can reach as high as 32 degrees Celsius are March, April and May. Months when temperature drops down to as low as 4 degrees Celsius are December, January and February.

The History

Biag, the founder of Sagada, bothered by the dangers posed by headhunting enemies and the destruction caused by wild pigs on his kaingins, left the mountains together with the families of his brothers and sisters and found themselves settling somewhere in Candon, Ilocos Sur. Wary if attempts by Spaniards to have them baptized with Spanish surnames, he left Candon together with his family and moved to a place further West. Later he started back to the mountains until he finally came to what is now Sagada. Biag brought with him a cultural background, enriched by his experiences from “Loco,” the Igorot name for the lowland coast, into this land “Golot,” the name Igorots gave this place of origin.

Deducing from the facts surrounding the story of Biag, Sagada came about in the 1830’s. This was about the time Governpr Claveria was enforcing the giving of Spanish surnames to the Filipinos. Biag instituted a ground religious festival that took place very ten years wherein the dried tails of pigs sacrificed for the occasion were kept in a basket knapsack of Biag which had been preserved to the present. The period of Biag could be established by the count of the tails.

Financial Information

Sagada is one of the municipalities whose income class improved from sixth class in July 1993 to fifth class in July 1996. Its share from the Internal Revenue Allotment shares with the corresponding percent change from 1995 to 1999 are as follows:


IRA (in Peso) % Change overprevious
1995 6,280,445.00  
1996 6,764,481.00 7.71
1997 9,072,559.00 34.12
1998 9,258,077.00 2.04
1999 12,073,870.00 30.41

Tourist Destinations

1. Sumaging Cave
2. Lumiang CaveV 3. Loko-ong Crystal Cave
4. Balangagan Cave
5. Sugong Cave
6. Masferre Photographs
7. Bokong Waterfall
8. Bomod-ok (Big waterfall)

Municipal Officials 2001-2004


Mayor Thomas Perry A. Killip
Vice Mayor James P. Lonogan

Councilors ( 8 of 29 candidates)
Francis O. Tauli
Francis B. Balisong
Eduard A. Guitelen
Veronica A. Daoas
Thomas B. Galbin
Potenciano T. Medina
John B. Guitilen
Venancio B. Baybay

Voting Statistics, Sagada
No. of Barangays 20
Total Precincts 36
Registered Voters 5,205
Males 2,687
Females 2,518
Total Actual Voters 4,209
Males 2,173
Females 2,036

Provincial Officials

Congressman Roy Pilando
Governor Sario Malinias
Vice-Goverrnor Anthony Wooden

Board Members District I
(Bontoc, Barlig, Natonin, Paracelis and Sadanga)
Francis Dangiwan
Ezra Gomez
Franklin Odsey
Arbee Talastas

Board Members District II
(Sabangan, Sagada, Besao, Tadian and Bauko)
Ben Dominguez
Winston Calde
Marcial Lawilao
Eduardo Solang

Source: COMELEC Sagada 2001